McCrory names 3 to NC education board


RALEIGH, N.C. (AP) — Gov. Pat McCrory has named two local school board members and a university professor to the State Board of Education.

McCrory said Friday he's appointing Buddy Collins, Olivia Oxendine and Marcella Ramirez Savage to succeed three members whose terms expire at the end of the month.

Collins is a Kernersville attorney who serves on the Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Board of Education. Savage is a Union County school board member and Oxendine teaches as the University of North Carolina at Pembroke.

The General Assembly must confirm the appointments.

McCrory also named three replacements to the 13-member board in January.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Most Popular