Pearson headlines second NASCAR Hall of Fame class


CHARLOTTE, N.C. (AP) — David Pearson has been selected to the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

The Silver Fox was controversially left out of last year's inaugural class despite 105 career wins. There was an outcry among race fans at his exclusion in favor of longtime NASCAR chairman Bill France Jr.

Pearson received an immediate standing ovation from those gathered in the Great Hall of the Hall of Fame on Wednesday. Also selected was Bobby Allison, whose 84 wins are tied for third on the all-time victory list.

Lee Petty, the patriarch of Petty Enterprises was the third name announced. He was followed by Ned Jarrett and Bud Moore.

Not selected was Darrell Waltrip, the three-time champion who had actively campaigned.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Most Popular