NC State to honor '89 team before facing No. 8 UNC


RALEIGH, N.C. (AP) — North Carolina State will honor its 1988-89 team — including two players ejected by an official during Saturday's game — before facing No. 8 North Carolina.

The school announced the team would receive the inaugural "Wolfpack Unlimited" Award before Tuesday's game against the Tar Heels. That squad includes Chris Corchiani and Tom Gugliotta, who were removed from their seats behind the scorer's table during the second half of a loss to Florida State by official Karl Hess.

In a text message to The Associated Press, athletic director Debbie Yow said the team was being considered for the award before the ejections, though she decided that same day the team "was the right recipient" for the first award.

The Jim Valvano-led team won the program's last Atlantic Coast Conference regular-season title.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Most Popular