World Rugby: Ref wrong to award late penalty in RWC final

Wccb Charlotte Sept 2025 Icon 512x512

LONDON (AP) β€” Rugby’s governing body says referee Craig Joubert made an error in awarding Australia a late penalty that was successfully converted to clinch a 35-34 victory over Scotland in the Rugby World Cup quarterfinals on Sunday.

Joubert penalized Scotland prop Jon Welsh for playing the ball following a knock-on by a teammate, resulting in an offside decision which caused outrage among fans and former players in Britain.

Following a review of all camera angles, World Rugby on Monday said Welsh had been played onside because the ball was touched by Australia’s Nick Phipps, and that the call should have been a scrum to Australia.

The incident occurred in the 78th minute and Australia flyhalf Bernard Foley landed the clinching goal in the last minute.

Joubert couldn’t ask the Television Match Official for a review, because referrals can only be sought when awarding a try or assessing acts of foul play.