Who’s Who In The 9th Congressional District Race

CHARLOTTE, NC — The GOP primary for North Carolina’s 9th Congressional District race is underway. The primary race includes 10 Republican candidates.

The winner will face off against candidates from the Democrat, Libertarian and Green Parties, which have already been decided, in the general election on November 5th.

See the full list of Republican Primary candidates below, as well as additional party candidates participating in the November general election.

Additional information on each candidate can be found at their campaign websites by clicking the links provided.

*Note: A campaign website for one or more candidates could not be found.

Republican Primary Candidates:

Stevie Rivenbark Hull, Fayetteville

Matthew Ridenhour, Charlotte

Stony Rushing, Wingate

Fern Shubert, Marshville

Albert Lee Wiley, Jr., Atlantic Beach

Chris Anglin, Raleigh

Dan Bishop, Charlotte

Leigh Thomas Brown, Harrisburg

Kathie C. Day, Cornelius

Gary Dunn, Matthews

Democrat Party Candidate:

Dan McCready, Charlotte

Libertarian Party Candidate:

Jeff Scott, Charlotte

Green Party Candidate:

Allen Smith, Charlotte


The official candidate list can be found on the NC Board of Elections website, or by clicking HERE.

The Primary Election Day will be held on Tuesday, May 14th.

You can also find more information about the candidates, as well as the 9th District race by clicking HERE.