Panthers Name Captains For 2020 Season

After a team vote, the Panthers have named their six captains for the 2020 season.

While this is the first time that linebacker Shaq Thompson will wear the “C” patch on his jersey, defensive tackle Kawann Short earns the honor for the second straight season.

It’s the first time that Christian McCaffrey will start the season as a captain. The running back was named captain last year before the Week 5 game against Jacksonville.

Previously captains on former teams, it didn’t take long for three Panthers newcomers to show their leadership skills.

Quarterback Teddy Bridgewater, left tackle Russell Okung and linebacker Tahir Whitehead round out Carolina’s 2020 captains.

The Panthers open their 2020 season on Sunday when they host the Las Vegas Raiders.

Photo Courtesy

Photo Courtesy