A Historic Night As Charlotte Swears In Their New Mayor, Council Members

CHARLOTTE, NC — Tonight, Charlotte has a new mayor and a set of new, younger city council members.

Not counting Mayor Lyles, the council is now made up of majority Millennials after five new members were sworn in Monday night.

The council chamber packed for history in the making as Vi Lyles was sworn in as Charlotte’s first African-American woman mayor.

“I’m really proud to have made that history because there are a number of women in the city that will think it’s possible for them,” said Lyles.

She campaigned on bringing business to Charlotte, creating jobs, affordable housing, and cutting crime.

“By electing me and this new council, Charlotte said it’s ready for a new era of growth.”

Also sworn in were five new council members, including Braxton Winston, Larken Egleston, Justin Harlow, Matt Newton, and Tariq Bokhari. That brings the total to six members under the age of 40.

Braxton Winston was a demonstrator during the protests and riots after the police shooting of Keith Scott. Even then Winston was pushing for affordable housing and job access in poor communities.

As now former Mayor Jennifer Roberts packed up to leave office, she wrote Vi Lyles a note wishing good luck to Charlotte’s new mayor.

“Being a spokesperson for the city, the mayor has a great deal of influence on the conversation,” said Roberts. “On where the focus will be… on what the priorities are.”

Tonight Lyles says history isn’t all she will be known for.

“I want to be known as the best mayor in Charlotte. To create opportunity for all of us.”

Outgoing city council members said their goodbye’s tonight, and say they have confidence in Lyles.

Also happening tonight, the new council unanimously selected Julie Eiselt Mayor Pro Tem.